top of page

Whatever It Takes - May

We're almost half way through the year and it has to be said that, for me at least, this month has been a busy one. A rather lovely moment was my birthday when I received some amazing gifts and had some solidly excellent outings, thanks not least to the lifting of restrictions. Highlights include a firepit made out if an old car wheel (yes way!); my very own librarian's kit (to go with a seriously good book haul); a "perfect bath' kit and practically a lifetime supply of gin. People know me well! I was treated to an awesome surprise dinner with friends somewhere posh and swanky; spontaneously serenaded late in the night outside the Minster and then, a week later, an evening INDOORS with my husband at my favourite restaurant where I almost wept with with joy and delight. It’s been immense and I am still reeling from the wonder of it all.


In addition to gifts and free food, aging also had another perk for me this year. Nudging the mid-forties meant I qualified for my Covid vaccine which, frankly, I was DELIGHTED about. Receiving the text to say I could book a slot to get innoculated might go down as the best moment of the year for me. I genuinely felt like I'd won the lottery!


My other not insignificant triumph has been at last managing to get my long broken phone screen fixed. It had been badly malfunctioning for some time and the shops reopening this month enabled me to finally get it repaired. People I regularly message will be thrilled to learn that (at the risk of rapidly descending into Sesame Street territory) I can now once again use the letters T and G and the number 5 in my telephonic communication messages. Happy days.



 

RECOMMENDATIONS


Read


A Little Life I feel embarrassed that it has taken me so long to recommend this as it is probably one of my favourite books of all time although - confession alert: it took me two attempts to read it. I blame this mainly on the fact that I was reading at night before falling asleep and then failing to remember what had just happened when I went to pick the story up again. Eventually (and very uneasily) I abandoned it. This is something I rarely do but always feel something approaching a Catholic level of guilt about. Apparently I shouldn't, and neither should anyone according to James Coley in his most reassuring article The joy of not finishing books: if you don't like it, don't read it. ).


I reluctantly decided to reconcile with this one after a good friend insisted we were meant to be together and that I should carve out some time and give it another try. Cue global pandemic, mutiple national lockdowns and suddenly the occasional bit of time to spend reading during the day. If there is an upside to being confined to the house for extended periods then getting the time to read this is probably it for me.


I became ridiculously invested in each of the four main characters - Willem, JB, Malcom and Jude - and feel deep, lasting affection for all of them. Their stories are complicated, funny, heartwarming and deeply moving. A note of caution however: it is, in many ways, a challenging read and has more than bit of what my father would describe as "mild peril" in places. It's wonderful, poignant, beautiful and heartbreaking. Brimming with joy (as well as the afore-mentioned peril) prepare to use the tissue box, and don't say I didn't warn you! A bit more from Goodreads below.


When four classmates from a small Massachusetts college move to New York to make their way, they're broke, adrift, and buoyed only by their friendship and ambition. There is kind, handsome Willem, an aspiring actor; JB, a quick-witted, sometimes cruel Brooklyn-born painter seeking entry to the art world; Malcolm, a frustrated architect at a prominent firm; and withdrawn, brilliant, enigmatic Jude, who serves as their centre of gravity.


Over the decades, their relationships deepen and darken, tinged by addiction, success, and pride. Yet their greatest challenge, each comes to realise, is Jude himself, by midlife a terrifyingly talented litigator yet an increasingly broken man, his mind and body scarred by an unspeakable childhood, and haunted by what he fears is a degree of trauma that he’ll not only be unable to overcome—but that will define his life forever


 

Do

Oh the joy, the absolute utter joy of once again being able to go out and be entertained by real people in real places!! I was lucky enough to catch a show at YTR this month and the delight with which I was filled was on a par to endorphins released when I achieve uninterrupted consumption of a classic episode of Suits alongside a family sized confectionary item. The show I saw was superb, but even if it hadn't been I'd have still loved the experience of just being there. Safe to say, the last 18 months have been a pretty long haul for arts venues up and down the country and it has been heartbreaking to see so many creative spaces closing.


YTR has managed to weather the storm and the relief from all associated with it, regarding the long awaited unlocking is palpable. Prior to the start of the show - as we all waited outside, pavlovian in our precisely measured, permanently ingrained '2m apart' queue - the artistic director Tom Bird popped his head out of the door beaming behind his mask and said "We're just so happy to see you all!"


 

Watch

Before you all feel compelled to tell me, I am well aware that I am very very late to this particular party.* I'm now very much on board and basically obsessed and feeling deep comfort in knowing I'm not alone. If, like I was, you are unaware of this excellent slice of televisual heaven please carve out a few hours and get it on. There is so much to enjoy with this show, it is superbly cast and packed full of relatable content in every episode. I have cried laughing at points and then rewound the scenes more than once to experience the joy all over again.



 

Even if you're not a Eurovision fan** or a Will Ferrall fan*** there is so much to love about this film it won't matter. US publications have had to explain the concept of The Eurovision Song Contest to some pretty confused viewers, and some reviewers have obviously turned up their noses. Despite this, the film has already picked up a legion of fans, myself amongst them. There are many nods within the movie to the contest including a slightly surreal Pitch Perfect-esque 'song-off' during which a plethora of previous Eurovision stars make an appearance. Additionally the joyous Graham Norton shows up in his commentary role with some cracking one liners, though naughtily he does talk over the performances - which he would never do in real life. There are a few other inaccuracies in terms of how the contest is organised (the BBC has helpfully listed them all for you to read at your leisure). The competition being set in Scotland (which would mean that the UK would have had to have won the contest the previous year), was the hardest one for me to ignore, given that pretty much every year without exception we get nil points from every person on the planet.



 

Listen


French and Saunders - Titting About

Available on Audible - French & Saunders: Titting About sees the national treasures reunited to discuss a variety of topics. I've laughed so much listening to this glorious pair, learned tonnes of useless trivia and have picked up some top tips, all delivered in their typically irreverent style. According to Audible, the pair “leave no stone unturned in their thorough quest to entertain, humour and enlighten”, There are six episodes, and the themes of each episode are: Passions and Hobbies, Holidays, School, The Seven Deadly Sins, Food and a final episode titled If We Were Alive Now which is a reflection on their careers and is a proper joyous nostalgia-fest. Please note - some of the podcast content may not be entirely suitable for the whole family so headphone listening might be in order for this one.


 

Eat


Gü puddings. These yummy mini versions are perfect as “one for now, one for later” and the packaging is recyclable! Once you have a small mountain of the little glass ramekins you can reuse them as glue or paint pots, decorate with tissue paper and turn into tea-light holders, or stick some damp cotton wool inside to grow cress! Alternatively, layer up cocoa, sugar and marshmallows, cover with a tissue paper lid and tie with ribbon as a nice do it yourself chocolaty drink gift. They also do a vegan and gluten-free cheesecake version - flavours include salted caramel and lemon cheesecake! Devine!




 

Final thought from me.


I've noticed that achieving the work/life balance**** (which is always a bit of a 'challenge'), has been a bit trickier for some recently - myself included. I've chalked up quite a few #Parentingfail points and had a significant number of "Motherland" moments. If it's any consolation to those of you struggling, I know I'm not alone and pretty sure that we're all just trying to survive, clinging on to what remains of our sanity.


I am now fully reconciled to the fact that getting the kids up and out of the house on time, inevitably means attempting (and probably failing) to navigate many many urgent crises relating to: homework/PE kits/Food Tech ingredients/lunch-provision/reply slips/planner signing/Permission letters/reading books/ Uniform/AND BLOODY FACE MASKS!***** every weekday morning. All of this, before I've had anywhere near enough sleep, food or caffeine and am yet to start thinking about my working day. Mostly I'm left feeling like I've done a full shift at the chalkface before I've even got in the car.


Couple this with the fact that it has rained every single day in May this year (I'm writing this on the 28th so I guess there's a couple of days left to alter that claim - COME ON!!!!) which has put a literal dampener on so many plans and pretty much reflected the mood of the nation. Anyway, half term will be upon us when this is published so let's rejoice in a few days off from the school/work/parenting/life plate-spinning chaos and hopefully we can all look forward to a few brighter days ahead. As always feel free to contact me via Instagram or Twitter with any contributions, thoughts, comments, or feedback. Till next time, just keep doing Whatever It Takes...

 


Quote of the month




 

*No change there then... and I have made up for it by binge watching the fist two series and am now well into the current third!

** Why wouldn't you be...

*** See above

**** Has anyone ever achieved the holy grail that is perfect work/life balance? Answers on a postcard please...

***** I'd say delete any that don't apply - but they all apply to me! And I know how very very important it is to wear a face mask - I'm just fed up of them!!

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page