top of page

Whatever It Takes - April

As one who is rarely lost for words, I have had the unusual experience lately of not really knowing what to say. I've been on the edges and outskirts of a lot of pain and loss in the past few months, culminating most recently in the death of a friend who was someone I've known for most of my working life. It was expected but still felt sudden and very saddening, made worse of course because due to all things Covid I hadn't seen him for over a year.


I first crossed paths with Patrick Scott about 15 years ago in his role as Director of Education at City of York Council, when I was working as a recently appointed head of Music at Lowfield School. The staff and wider community there were in a period of consultation regarding the future of our site and a possible merger with another school. I was incensed about the potential closure of Lowfield and took it upon myself at 5pm one Friday evening, to telephone the Director of Education himself, and tell him so. We talked for almost an hour and although I was obviously unable to persuade him to my way of thinking - he listened patiently and was so gracious in giving his time to allow me to have my say! As I got to know him better, it turned out that this was typical Patrick, always sharing his time with others, making them feel valued, and regularly giving a listening ear to those who asked to be heard. This continued even when he became very unwell during this last year. I remember in one of our regular conversations he asked after my family (as he always did), and upon learning that my mother’s illness was advancing, he offered to help me (should I need it), with any advice or support regarding organising care for her if that were to be necessary.


We met several times over the years during my teaching career but most recently (and more formally) in his role as Chair of York Music Hub, in May 2018, when I was appointed to the post of Strategic Manager. Patrick was a very hands-on Chair, deeply committed to every aspect of the Hub. A huge advocate of arts education, he - along his lovely wife Angel, somehow found the time to attend every event we organised at YMH (and most of the ones we commissioned or supported as well), and always found something encouraging to say to those involved. He was an incredible role model who led by example and worked tirelessly to champion music opportunities for young people. He was always very self-deprecating about not being a musician himself, but I’ve yet to meet a greater music ‘appreciator’. His support and belief in the creative potential of children was truly inspiring and I was constantly in awe of his energetic drive and vision. I am truly grateful to have had the opportunity to learn so much from him and for everything he did for me personally as well as for my colleagues at YMH during my time there. I will miss our regular kitchen table catch ups; his array of fountain pens; the thoughtful and wise advice; his amazing baking; and of course his ever present warm and friendly smile.


Anti-clockwise from bottom right: Patrick Scott, Me, Angel Scott, and Craig Brown (the other half of the former YMH management team). Photograph taken at a Lord Mayors Charity fundraising pub quiz, which we did not win...

 

RECOMMENDATIONS

 

Read


The book I'm recommending this month is The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry. A gem of a book which will lift your heart and restore your faith in humanity.

Harold receives an out-of-the-blue letter from a friend he hasn't seen in 20 years. Queenie Hennesay is dying from cancer and is writing from a hospice hundreds of miles away to say goodbye. Harold quickly writes a reply and heads out to post it. However, when he reaches the postbox he just keeps going and going and going. Woefully ill equipped for the journey, without any walking gear or even a mobile phone, Harold decides to walk to Queenie in an attempt to keep her alive. At the start of his journey, before he really knows he is going to embark on it, he is inspired by a young woman working at a petrol station who tells him: 'If you have faith you can do anything.’ The words shape his path and he forges onwards despite the challenges he encounters, in order to reconnect with his past and also to be able to face his future. You can purchase your very own copy of this delightful read from the Little Apple Bookshop online or ACTUALLY GO TO THE SHOP IN PERSON - HURRAH!!!


Rachel Joyce has written over 20 original afternoon plays for BBC Radio 4, and major adaptations for both the Classic Series, Woman's Hour and also a TV drama adaptation for BBC 2. In 2007 she won the Tinniswood Award for best radio play.

 

Do


The Foss Fairy Trail


A free public river walk with a difference. A fairy trail for all ages to bring a little joy and sunshine into what have been pretty grey days. The tiny buildings and doors are a triumph and a really enchanting addition to this riverside route. I've walked this path so many times over the last few months, regularly dragging along friends and family of all ages and it never fails to make us all smile, regardless of mood on embarkation.


There is a pedestrian gateway to access the trail just over the bridge crossing the river Foss, on Heworth Green, in York (opposite side of the roundabout to the Brigadier Gerard pub). It is a gentle buggy and dog friendly walk which goes as far as the Aaran Place playing field (King George's Field).



 

Watch


Hunt For The Wilderpeople


This is not a new film but was recently discovered by us after. a recommendation from a friend describing it as "a TOP TOP movie" and assuring me that the Amazon Prime rental fee was the best £1.99 I'd ever spend! She was right - it's exceptionally good. Described as an adventure-comedy-drama it certainly ticks all those boxes. Based on the book Wild Pork and Watercress by Barry Crump, it tells the story of Ricky Baker and his unlikely foster family. Fun fact courtesy of my husband*; almost the entire film was shot using a single camera. This means the scenes would have been much more time-consuming to film, but would allow the director more control over the detail! That attention to detail is evident throughout, it is so well observed. The comedy is perfectly timed - Taika Waititi's cameo as a vicar is hilarious - and there is a joy at the heart of this film that stays with you long after the credits roll.


 

It's pretty much the Bake Off with buttons instead of buns but what's not to love! The contestants are heroic, and the hosting team are a triumph. I'm not going to lie, the stylish charming delight for the eyes that is Patrick Grant is a big plus for me and I adore the chic but ever so cutting Esme Young also. However, Joe Lycett, God's Gift to presenting as far as I'm concerned (and should be front and centre for everything in the world) is the real reason I tune in each week. I finish every episode feeling noticeably uplifted, strongly desirous of owning a mannequin, and googling the availability of overlockers and all things haberdashery related...


Unfortunately, as much as do I love a spot of crochet** I'm no seamstress and even if I were skilful enough to be chosen for the programme, I'm fully aware that my nerves could never take actually being a contestant as I have to have a large gin to get through most episodes. I have full on sweaty palpitations almost throughout and an ever so slight feeling of chest pain whenever Lord Lycett gives a time check...




 

Listen


Just one thing


This series has been a revelation for me. The upshot is that if time is short, is there one thing that you should be doing to improve your health and wellbeing? Dr. Michael Mosley reveals scientifically proven top tips to change your life. I have listened to every one and although haven't quite been brave enough to try every recommendation (Michael has - see below), I have been inspired by one particular episode and have been walking every day now for almost a month. I've noticed a huge difference in my sense of wellbeing as well as significant improvement in terms of my fitness levels. Apparently I'm a bit less grumpy around the house too so that's a bonus....

Michael says:

"Since I like trying things myself before recommending them to others, you’ll be glad to hear I’ve been trying out each and every Just One Thing, along with a number of brave volunteers, to see if the reality lives up to the hype".

Just One Thing is on BBC Radio 4 at 11.45am on Sundays and is available to download now on BBC Sounds.

 

Eat


A brand new plant-based chocolate shop in the shadow of York Minster, where they make vegan Milkt and White chocolate creations. Enormous slabs of chocolate, caramels, bonbons, miniature mice as well as lots of other delightful treats that are beautiful, ethical and seriously tasty. They also offer superb hot chocolate.


They say:

“All our chocolate is plant-based and ethically sourced. There’s no milk, cream or butter used and our milk and white chocolate is made on site from scratch. It’s be some of the best vegan milk and white chocolate available in York. We’re using local produce where possible including oats from Stringers at Bishop Wilton. All our dark chocolate is raise trade, which is one step on from Fair Trade making sure the money goes back in to the country of origin."

Chocolate that tastes great and makes you feel good? Everyone's a winner in this scenario surely. Give it a try - you'll thank me***. They have an excellent online range or you could pop and see them in their actual store, 16 High Petergate, York which is handily just opposite the lovely Little Apple Bookshop!


 

Final thought from me.


In the summer of 2019 York Music Hub put on a huge youth music festival weekend: "HubFest”, an unprecedented event involving over a thousand young people. It was an exhausting, amazing and inspiring experience which will stay with me forever. All of us who helped to organise it are deeply indebted to Patrick and his extraordinary wife Angel, and all they contributed to its success. In this circumstance, as with many others, 'thank you’ isn't enough. Put simply, it would not have been possible to achieve any of what we did for the young people of York, without all that they gave of themselves to make it happen. We will always be beyond grateful, for this and for everything they did.



 

As always feel free to contact me via Instagram or Twitter with any contributions, thoughts, comments, or feedback. Till next time, just keep doing Whatever It Takes...

 


Quote of the month



 

*This is according to my husband who works in TV production and therefor apparently, the prime source of all television and cinematic knowledge...

**I have been learning how to crochet for almost the entirety of lockdown - so pretty much for A WHOLE YEAR and have finally managed how to do a very basic square. I'm counting this as a win!

***You honestly will - you're welcome in advance. :)


Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page